Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Are you having problems setting up GB64 on your machine? Ask your questions in here!

Moderator: Jimbo

AlphaUMi
New Member
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:32 pm

Hello .mad, I will do as many tests as you want, I'm here to help you to resolve the issue!

First of all, the log reports:

Code: Select all

7-Zip Path: [F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\GameBase\7z.exe]
        Unpacking [F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n\NOONEB01_14883_02.zip] to folder [C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0]
            -----------------clsUnpack.SevenListUnpack-----------------
            Changed Directory to [F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n]
            Running 7-Zip [C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\GameBase\7z.exe x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"]
            -----------------------------------------------------------
        --------------------------------------------------
    Unpacker failed with error [7-Zip non e' riuscito ad estrarre i file dall'archivio F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n\NOONEB01_14883_02.zip a C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0]


From cmd.exe (no administrator), set to operate in my GameBase directory, if I try:

Code: Select all

F:\EMULATORS\COMMODORE 64\GameBase>7z.exe x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"

7-Zip 4.65  Copyright (c) 1999-2009 Igor Pavlov  2009-02-03


Error:
cannot find archive
But if I try:

Code: Select all

F:\EMULATORS\COMMODORE 64\GameBase>7z.exe x "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n\NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"

7-Zip 4.65  Copyright (c) 1999-2009 Igor Pavlov  2009-02-03

Processing archive: F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n\NOONEB01_14883_02.zip

Extracting  NOONEB01.T64
Extracting  VERSION.NFO

Everything is Ok

Files: 2
Size:       49184
Compressed: 29013
As you can see, in the second attempt I added the full path after the x parameter. In the first case, it seems GameBase cannot pass the string strGamePathFile_in... and needs the full path... Any ideas?
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1867
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 8:41 am

Hi AlphaUMi,

I don't think that is the main problem???

When running from GameBase it adds the path string strGamePathFile_in.
as you can see the fullpath in your error log.

Changed Directory to [F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n]
Running 7-Zip [C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\GameBase\7z.exe x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"]

so when you test outside of GameBase you must add the path manually.

however...
you might actually be on to something!
as your path is in the longname format with a space in the directory \Commodore^64\.
i think it will only read correctly when encased in "quotes"

Change Directory to "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n"

C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\GameBase\7z.exe" x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"

alternativley- try a test with short filenames and paths [no spaces] 8:3
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c F:\EMULATOR\Com64\GameBase\7z.exe x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"

--
my possible fix is only to add "/d" to the CMD.EXE to avoid the reg autorun.

Change Directory to "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n"
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c /d "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\GameBase\7z.exe" x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"
AlphaUMi
New Member
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 1:22 pm

I've performed the suggested tests. Here are the results:

Code: Select all

F:\>cd "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n"

F:\EMULATORS\COMMODORE 64\C64Games\n>C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
Microsoft Windows [Versione 10.0.18362.175]
(c) 2019 Microsoft Corporation. Tutti i diritti sono riservati.

F:\EMULATORS\COMMODORE 64\C64Games\n>C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\GameBase\7z.exe" x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"
"F:\EMULATORS\Commodore" non è riconosciuto come comando interno o esterno,
 un programma eseguibile o un file batch.
This command breaks at "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore", despite the quotes. The output says: "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore" is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

Then I tried renaming "Commodore 64" to "Commodore64" (without spaces):

Code: Select all

F:\>cd "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore64\C64Games\n"

F:\EMULATORS\COMMODORE64\C64Games\n>C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore64\GameBase\7z.exe" x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"
"F:\EMULATORS\Commodore64\GameBase\7z.exe" x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\" non è riconosciuto come comando interno o esterno,
 un programma eseguibile o un file batch.
In this case the whole line has been interpreted as a command. The output is the same: ... is not recognized as ...

Now with short file names:

Code: Select all

F:\>cd "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n"

F:\EMULATORS\COMMODORE 64\C64Games\n>C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c F:\EMULATOR~\Com~64\GameBase\7z.exe x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"
Impossibile trovare il percorso specificato.
Output: cannot find the specified path.

And finally about the /d parameter:

Code: Select all

F:\EMULATORS>cd "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n"

F:\EMULATORS\COMMODORE 64\C64Games\n>C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c /d "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\GameBase\7z.exe" x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"
"/d" non è riconosciuto come comando interno o esterno,
 un programma eseguibile o un file batch.
"/d" is not recognized as an internal or external command...
By the way, I cannot find any documentation about this /d parameter!

Ok .mad, let me know your considerations, please!
AlphaUMi
New Member
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 1:46 pm

Hello .mad!
Actually this command works:

Code: Select all

C:\Users\AlphaUMi>F:

F:\>cd "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n"

F:\EMULATORS\COMMODORE 64\C64Games\n>"F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\GameBase\7z.exe" x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"

7-Zip 4.65  Copyright (c) 1999-2009 Igor Pavlov  2009-02-03

Processing archive: NOONEB01_14883_02.zip

Extracting  NOONEB01.T64
Extracting  VERSION.NFO

Everything is Ok

Files: 2
Size:       49184
Compressed: 29013
I've changed the working directory to "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n" BUT this time I've excluded C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe and invoked 7.zip directly:

"F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\GameBase\7z.exe" x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"

And it works. Any ideas?

Cheers,
AlphaUMi
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1867
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 2:08 pm

AlphaUMi wrote:
Mon Jun 24, 2019 1:22 pm
"/d" is not recognized as an internal or external command...
By the way, I cannot find any documentation about this /d parameter!
the "gamepath" to the file is stored by gamebase.
so maybe the current setpath is lost when typing manually from the CMD window.

F:\EMULATORS\COMMODORE64\C64Games\n>C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore64\GameBase\7z.exe" x "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore64\C64Games\n\NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"

i think the problem has already been confirmed with running of the CMD from within gamebase.
so 7zip and path is not found because of the way CMD is not being run correctly in win10.
as it does work in win10 for some people then doesn't work after a certain security update.

this is what i found about CMD command-line...
https://ss64.com/nt/cmd.html

maybe it's only for NT/server version of windows.???
when i try "/D" on WinXP and Win7 gamebase crashes. :cry:

i have an idea...
put 7z.exe and 7z.dll in the same folder as the CMD.exe in win10
C:\WINDOWS\system32\
*maybe they have to be registered there as well.

C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c 7z.exe x "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore64\C64Games\n\NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"

if a cmd shortcut or alternative could be run from the gamebase folder?
that might be easier to give it admin rights in win10.
AlphaUMi
New Member
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 2:32 pm

OK, so I've copied 7zip.exe and 7zip.dll in System32 folder.
This is the output:

Code: Select all

C:\Users\AlphaUMi>C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c 7z.exe x "F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n\NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"

7-Zip 4.65  Copyright (c) 1999-2009 Igor Pavlov  2009-02-03


Error:
7-Zip cannot find the code that works with archives.

This time 7zip has been found (in System32) and it started, but strangely "cannot find the code that works with archives"... ???? This is a new error message.

NOTE: the same happens if I run the command from a cmd windows with admin privileges.


I repeat that a working command line is:

"F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\GameBase\7z.exe" x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"

i.e. without cmd stuff. This way 7zip is found in the GameBase directory and works correctly...
Then you can: set the working directory where the archive resides before the command, so that x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" is found, OR launch the command directly but specify the full path to the archive that has to be extracted!

Mmmmhh... any ideas? This seems to be more difficult than expected. Damn Microsoft, all was working well since a month ago...
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1867
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 2:45 pm

AlphaUMi wrote:
Mon Jun 24, 2019 2:32 pm
This time 7zip has been found (in System32) and it started, but strangely "cannot find the code that works with archives"... ????
that meas 7z.exe can not read the 7z.dll in the system folder.

from the RUN prompt type this...
regsvr32 “C:\Windows\System32\7z.dll”
and give it admin rights.
I repeat that a working command line is:

"F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\GameBase\7z.exe" x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -yro"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"

i.e. without cmd stuff.
when you type that command, you are already in the CMD window.
the problem is getting gamebase to allow it in win10.
AlphaUMi
New Member
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:18 pm

Sorry .mad, I think Windows 10 don't allow me to register 7z.dll in a protected system folder.
Note that I tried with both original and updated dll, with no luck.

First, Windows 10 seems not to "see" the dll in System32 folder, so I put the files in C:\Windows\SysWOW64 folder, but the error message says it is not a valid dll (something wrong with entry point, IIRC).

Obviously I don't want to change permissions of System32 or SysWOW64 folders, because I know that things will get worse with the whole system...

But I can set 7z.exe to run as administrator, and according to the dll properties, I have full control over 7z.dll. Note that if I set the exe to run as administrator, I have to open a cmd window as administator too...
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1867
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:28 pm

AlphaUMi wrote:
Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:18 pm
Obviously I don't want to change permissions of System32 or SysWOW64 folders, because I know that things will get worse with the whole system...

But I can set 7z.exe to run as administrator, and according to the dll properties, I have full control over 7z.dll. Note that if I set the exe to run as administrator, I have to open a cmd window as administator too...
i think when "YOU" open the CMD window it has Admin rights.
but when "GameBase" opens it, it doesn't.
probably win10 flags it as a threat?.

you could try and give Gamebase.exe and the gamebase install folder admin rights.

i have made a new gemus.dll with the /d that now runs on win7
but the /d doesn't show in the gemus.log.
so there must be another file that needs editing???.

file sent to your PM.
AlphaUMi
New Member
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:52 pm

.mad. wrote:
Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:28 pm
i think when "YOU" open the CMD window it has Admin rights.
but when "GameBase" opens it, it doesn't.
probably win10 flags it as a threat?.

you could try and give Gamebase.exe and the gamebase install folder admin rights.

i have made a new gemus.dll with the /d that now runs on win7
but the /d doesn't show in the gemus.log.
so there must be another file that needs editing???.

file sent to your PM.
According to Windows 10, GameBase.exe, GBLauncher.exe and the whole GameBase folder have full permissions, they reside in an unprotected folder in an external drive, so by default there are no restrictions... I've checked the properties, and there are none.
Therefore, as discussed at the beginning of this thread, we have already tried ALL the usual troubleshooting steps (run as admin, set compatibility mode, a lot of other attempts).

The files you PM'd me do not work, sadly! :cry:
Any other ideas?
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1867
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 5:06 pm

AlphaUMi wrote:
Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:52 pm
The files you PM'd me do not work, sadly! :cry:
Any other ideas?
try the new one!

it should be a capital "D" in the cmd "cmd.exe /D /c" not "/d" as i sent. :oops:
AlphaUMi
New Member
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 5:49 pm

Code: Select all

        -----------------clsUnpack.Unpack-----------------
        Repacking is possible
        7-Zip Path: [F:\EMULATORS\COMMODORE 64\GameBase\7z.exe]
        Unpacking [F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n\NOONEB01_14883_02.zip] to folder [C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0]
            -----------------clsUnpack.SevenListUnpack-----------------
            Changed Directory to [F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n]
            Running 7-Zip [C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /D /c F:\EMULATORS\COMMODORE 64\GameBase\7z.exe x "NOONEB01_14883_02.zip" -y -r -o"C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0\"]
            -----------------------------------------------------------
        --------------------------------------------------
    Unpacker failed with error [7-Zip non e' riuscito ad estrarre i file dall'archivio F:\EMULATORS\Commodore 64\C64Games\n\NOONEB01_14883_02.zip a C:\Users\AlphaUMi\AppData\Local\Temp\0]
Bye!

Damn! :cry: :cry: :cry:
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1867
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jun 24, 2019 6:09 pm

:P :P :P :P

does the reg edit hack work for you?

autorun off.reg

Code: Select all

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Command Processor]
"AutoRun"=-

i am all out of ideas!
if you can think of ANYTHING let me know. :wink:
AlphaUMi
New Member
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Tue Jun 25, 2019 7:39 am

Hello .mad!

About the Autorun key, I would have been very happy if it was so simple as removing a key... unfortunately, or fortunately, I don't have nor ever had that key.

I'm using jGamebase at the moment. I'll continue to follow this thread, and wait too hear some news. I would prefer to use a native Windows application instead of a java port.

I just have a vague idea... I don't know if java is your cup of tea (not mine for sure!), but since jGameBase is open source, maybe you might inspect the code too see which mechanism it uses to launch the emulators... if you want, of course. We have done at the moment with Windows 10.
Just in case the page on github is: https://github.com/pmajkutewicz/JGameBase

Thank you .mad! I have really appreciated your effort to find a solution!

Cheers,
Alpha
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1867
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Tue Jun 25, 2019 9:52 am

:idea:

maybe we can use the internal Win10 system file compact!.

To Compress (Zip) a File:
compact /c "full_path_of_file" /i /Q

To Uncompress (Unzip) a File:
compact /u "full_path_of_file" /i /Q

i know it won't unpack all file formats or be compatible with the rezip..
but it should always pass any Win10 security admin nonsense. :wink:

java has it's own shell and command to unpack in.
so i doubt Java GB uses the CMD window as well???.

not sure if this will work or not with the gamebase problem.
how to create an elevated CMD propmt without UAC.
https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/576 ... -10-a.html

Return to “GB64 Help!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests