Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Are you having problems setting up GB64 on your machine? Ask your questions in here!

Moderator: Jimbo

User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2140
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:10 pm

ok, i think i finally fixed the gemus.dll.

Added quotes to 7z and game path and added /D to CMD.

/D Ignore registry AutoRun commands
HKLM | HKCU \Software\Microsoft\Command Processor\AutoRun

[C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe /D /c "D:\my emuator stuff\GameBase\7z.exe x "C:\GameBase\Dragon\games\Adventure International UK\Adventure 2 - Pirate Adventure.zip" -y -r -o"C:\GBGame\0\"]

does anyone want to test it?
i know it works for me, but so does the original...

[deleted]
Last edited by .mad. on Fri Jul 05, 2019 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Anselm1
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:05 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Wed Jul 03, 2019 6:10 pm

.mad. wrote:
Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:10 pm
[C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe /D /c "D:\my emuator stuff\GameBase\7z.exe x "C:\GameBase\Dragon\games\Adventure International UK\Adventure 2 - Pirate Adventure.zip" -y -r -o"C:\GBGame\0\"]
Hi Mad,

isn't there a " missing after 7z.exe?
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2140
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Wed Jul 03, 2019 6:26 pm

Anselm1 wrote:
Wed Jul 03, 2019 6:10 pm
isn't there a " missing after 7z.exe?
quotes in strings are insane in VB6. :P
https://arstechnica.com/civis/viewtopic.php?t=784733

when the gemus log shows the correct batch result as "....7z.exe" x "....
it doesn't even run and unpack.
but that could be a misplaced single, double, tripple or quadruple quote terminating the command. :roll:

so i really need a tester to see if it works as it is. :wink:
Anselm1
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:05 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Sat Jul 06, 2019 4:10 pm

I tried to make a test environment:

Starting up with c:\GameBase
and with c:\GameBase2

now with a space:
c:\Game Base2

I am working with Windows 7 and it works.

But:
Checking with Process Momintor i can see, Windows 8.3 Short Names are used. It is clear, a space isn't an issue with 8.3 Short Names. C:\GAMEBA~3\ in my case is c:\Game Base2

Code: Select all

C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe /c C:\GAMEBA~3\7z.exe x "0ANDX_09437_01.zip" -yro"C:\GBGame\0\"
To test it, i must turn off 8.3 Short names. I need some time to prepare this.
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2140
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Sat Jul 06, 2019 6:43 pm

Anselm1 wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 4:10 pm
To test it, i must turn off 8.3 Short names. I need some time to prepare this.
Hi Anselm,

i have tried many attempts with quotes.
This is best solution for everyone.

'fix the path to success!!!
strCommandLine = m_strCommandCom & "C:\7z\7z.exe" & " x """ & strPath_in & "\" & strFile_in & """ -y -r -o""" & strDestPath_in & "\"""


user just needs to put 7z on c:\
c:\7z\7z.exe
Anselm1
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:05 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:04 pm

Hi Mad,

OK, this workaround executing 7z from another folder should work, i can test this.

BTw, this is confusing for me (instead of surrounding strFile_in with ", it puts one " after the x and one " before -y -r -o, this makes the result okay, but reading it is not nice)

Code: Select all

strCommandLine = m_strCommandCom & strExtractorPath_in & " x """ & strFile_in & """ -y -r -o""" & strDestPath_in & "\"""
I think this is longer but makes it more clear:

Code: Select all

strCommandLine = m_strCommandCom & strExtractorPath_in & " x " & """" & strFile_in & """" & " -y -r -o" & """" & strDestPath_in & "\" & """"
or alternative:

Code: Select all

strCommandLine = m_strCommandCom & strExtractorPath_in & " x " & Chr$(34) & strFile_in & Chr$(34) & " -y -r -o" & Chr$(34) & strDestPath_in & "\" & Chr$(34)
This means to quote strExtractorPath_in can be

Code: Select all

strCommandLine = m_strCommandCom & """" & strExtractorPath_in & """" & " x " & """" & strFile_in & """" & " -y -r -o" & """" & strDestPath_in & "\" & """"
or

Code: Select all

strCommandLine = m_strCommandCom & Chr$(34) & strExtractorPath_in & Chr$(34) & " x " & Chr$(34) & strFile_in & Chr$(34) & " -y -r -o" & Chr$(34) & strDestPath_in & "\" & Chr$(34)
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2140
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Mon Jul 08, 2019 11:23 am

THE UNPACK CODE IN THE GEMUS.DLL HAS BEEN FIXED!

It will now work at any install path containing spaces.

Thanks to Anselm searching for and finding a solution. 8)

ZIP file is too large to be attached here.
and it really needs to be hosted on gb64.com

PM me if you want it?.
AlphaUMi
New Member
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Tue Jul 09, 2019 3:16 pm

.mad. wrote:
Mon Jul 08, 2019 11:23 am
THE UNPACK CODE IN THE GEMUS.DLL HAS BEEN FIXED!

It will now work at any install path containing spaces.

Thanks to Anselm searching for and finding a solution. 8)

ZIP file is too large to be attached here.
and it really needs to be hosted on gb64.com

PM me if you want it?.

@.mad.
I sent you a PM! :wink:
AlphaUMi
New Member
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Wed Jul 10, 2019 9:02 am

Yes, yes, yes, GameBase is working again! Thank you very much .mad, very very much, your patience and effort got the result finally! And many thanks to Anselm too!

================================================
I CAN CONFIRM THAT THE LATEST GEMUS WORKS WITH WINDOWS 1903
================================================

From a C64 lover, really thank you, mad.
ginolifio
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 8:42 am

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Fri Jan 07, 2022 4:12 pm

Please send me a new gemus.dll?
cocoloco
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 6:20 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Wed Apr 20, 2022 2:40 pm

Hello friends

I have a similar problem

i have installed in "C:\Juegos\Juegos Retro\Gamebase\GBC_v18\Games"

7zip error when unzipping the file.

If I install it in the folder "C:\Gamebase\GBC_v18\Games" everything works fine.

Doesn't work if you have multiple directories

I have Windows 10 Pro 64 bits , last version (at 20-04-2022)
Last edited by cocoloco on Sat May 14, 2022 8:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
cocoloco
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 6:20 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Thu Apr 21, 2022 8:00 am

thank you !! :D
User avatar
Uncle Sid
New Member
Location: N.E England
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:25 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Fri May 13, 2022 7:36 pm

any chance of the updated dll
does it support rar 5 files or just zip 7zip files

cheers
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2140
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Sat May 14, 2022 8:46 am

The main features of 7-Zip
Supported formats: Packing / unpacking: 7z, ZIP, XZ, BZIP2, GZIP, TAR, and WIM.

Unpacking only: RAR, AR, ARJ, CAB, CHM, CPIO, CramFS, DMG, EXT, FAT, GPT, HFS, IHEX, ISO, LZH, LZMA, MBR, MSI, NSIS, NTFS, QCOW2, RPM, SquashFS, UDF, UEFI, VDI, VHD, VHDX, VMDK, WIM, XAR and Z.

If you require GameBase to use the rezip function for save game and Hi-Score data.
stick to ZIP or 7Z only.
User avatar
Uncle Sid
New Member
Location: N.E England
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:25 pm

Re: Gamebase 1.3: 7-zip failed to unpack archive!

Sat May 14, 2022 5:08 pm

Thanks For the file


I was testing different compression algorithms to save some space :mrgreen:

Just tested using Rar and works perfectly (Cd Images) Brilliant :D

And again Thanks

Return to “GB64 Help!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests