Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Sega Saturn Emulator Script Question

Discuss any other databases that use the GameBase Frontend, whether in pre development, development or publically released.

Moderator: Jimbo

Flarp
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:43 pm

Sega Saturn Emulator Script Question

Sat Jan 26, 2013 9:28 pm

I'm trying to use the Sega Saturn Emulator Yabause for my project but I want it to directly load my .bin or .iso files and in Yabause it says to load an .iso press Ctrl+I for a shortcut.. I don't know how to write the emulator script in Gamebase to have it start up Yabause and load the game file from the list by inserting it to press Ctrl+I first... but it should work if I knew what I was doing..=)
User avatar
OX
Ice Cool Member
Ice Cool Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 9:05 pm

Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:45 pm

Run_Emulator_Send_Keys([2]{ALT}{DOWN}{DOWN}{ENTER}[1]%gamefile%{ENTER}||10)

give that a try.
Flarp
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:43 pm

Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:56 am

Thanks a lot this seems to work.. I had to change the setting under the cd rom emulation to dummy device. And I checked the autostart box.. and your script works brilliantly.. thank you.. I can even start the game from with in a .zip or .7Z file.. it takes a little longer to start but it helps save a lot of space..
Flarp
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:43 pm

Thu Jan 31, 2013 3:41 pm

I have run into a problem though.. this script has to have all the roms in the same folder to work.. or perhaps that's the emulator's fault.. but either way I have to unzip the games to use them and some of them have files simply labeled ex. Track 01.. so obviously if I am trying to unzip and setup more than 1 game that has files named the same thing Track 01 .. and so on it won't work with all the games correctly.. If I could simply just leave them zipped and set them up that way that would work and save room but it might be slow and so far that hasn't worked.. or 2 if I put them each in their own folder.. but every time Yabause starts it starts in the last folder you loaded a game from.. and than it can't find the correct game file to load.. SO I'm not sure the best way to solve this issue.
User avatar
.mad.
Honoured Member
Honoured Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2257
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:17 pm

i have a saturn gamebase done already.
1278 games listed, with box covers for screenshots.
These are almost all Japanese titles.

The USA version of the CD (if available) could be attached to the gamebase.
and change the country code and BIOS in the script.

this script works for the handful of images i have.
i don't recommend zipping the ISO's as the wait time to
unzip and copy the image to the gamebase folder,
then mount the CD's before they even start loading is painful.
just buy a bigger hard drive (1TB for about £80) and loading takes seconds.

Code: Select all

;**********************************
;*                                *
;*           Sega Saturn          *
;*                                *
;*     GameBase by .mad. 2012     *
;*         SSF v12 Beta R3        *
;*                                *
;**********************************

;Requires the following Tools to be Installed.
;Daemons Tools Lite 4.40.2.131. with Advanced Emulation switched ON.
;SCSI Pass Through Direct (SPTDinst-x86.exe)
;Run Daemons and create a New Virtual Drive.
;Edit the SSF.INI and change the CD Drive "Number" to use.


;#############################################################################################
;If you have a version of Daemons Tools already installed and working with a virtual drive.
;Change %dbpath% in this script to your Daemons installed location.
;EXAMPLE
;Run_Program(C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Lite\DTLite.exe||-unmount_All||WAIT)
;Run_Program(C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Lite\DTLite.exe||-mount 0, "%gamepathfile%"||WAIT)
;#############################################################################################

;------------------------------
Kill_Process(%emupath%\ssf.exe)
;------------------------------

; Remove Previous Attached CD Image.
Run_Program(%dbpath%\DTLite\DTLite.exe||-unmount_All||WAIT)

; Attach CD Image (Cue File).
Run_Program(%dbpath%\DTLite\DTLite.exe||-mount 0, "%gamepathfile%"||WAIT)

; Make the emulator use the Virtual CD Drive. This is "2" on my computer.
; 0 = first real CD drive, 1 = 2nd real CD drive, 2 = 3rd Drive *Virtual*)

; you may have to edit this number depending on the number of CD/DVD drives in your system.
; CD Should have this ID from the options menu "EDYTKL 6VCX6V0H"

Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||CDDrive||"2")


Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||SaturnBIOS||"%emupath%\Bios\USA.BIN")
;Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||SaturnBIOS||"%emupath%\Bios\JAP.BIN")
;Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||SaturnBIOS||"%emupath%\Bios\EUR.BIN")

Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||STVBIOS||"%emupath%\Bios\STV110.bin")

 ;# Areacode
 ;#  1 = Japan
 ;#  2 = Taiwan, Korea, Philippines
 ;#  4 = America, Canada, Brazil
 ;#  c = Europe, Australia, South Africa

;Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||Areacode||"1")

;Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||Areacode||"2")
Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||Areacode||"4")
;Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||Areacode||"c")

 ;# CardridgeID
 ;#  00 = none
 ;#  21 = Backup RAM Cartridge
 ;#  5a = 1MBytes RAM Cartridge
 ;#  5c = 4MBytes RAM Cartridge

Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||CartridgeID||"5c")

Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||DataCartridgeEnable||"1")
Set_INI_Value(1||Peripheral||DataCartridge||"InternalBackupRAM.bin")

; Change Setting.ini file options

Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\setting.ini||Setting1||DataCartridgeEnable||"1")
Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\setting.ini||Setting1||DataCartridge||"InternalBackupRAM.bin")

Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\setting.ini||Setting2||DataCartridgeEnable||"1")
Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\setting.ini||Setting2||DataCartridge||"InternalBackupRAM.bin")

Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\setting.ini||Setting3||DataCartridgeEnable||"1")
Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\setting.ini||Setting3||DataCartridge||"InternalBackupRAM.bin")

Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\setting.ini||Setting4||DataCartridgeEnable||"1")
Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\setting.ini||Setting4||DataCartridge||"InternalBackupRAM.bin")

Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\setting.ini||Setting5||DataCartridgeEnable||"1")
Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\setting.ini||Setting5||DataCartridge||"InternalBackupRAM.bin")

Run_Emulator()
your yabuse script needs to clear the recent game before running the emulator.

Code: Select all

Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\yabuse.ini||General||MpegRomPath||)
Set_INI_Value(%emupath%\yabuse.ini||General||CDROMDrive||)
Flarp
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:43 pm

Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:35 pm

Do you have your Saturn Gamebase posted anywhere? Or could you post it minus the games if possible ..it sounds very good.. and if you have already done one than it would be pointless wasting my time making another. If you haven't or don't want to I understand, either way thank you for your above post.
User avatar
.mad.
Honoured Member
Honoured Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2257
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:41 pm

it's not posted anywhere.

it still needs a little bit of tweaking, and more game info (notes).

but i can upload without games (i don't have many anyway).
i will PM you a link this weekend, or early next week.
Flarp
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:43 pm

Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:53 pm

Thank You I have most of the games I got them years ago along with many other sets like all the Dreamcast games.. a future project maybe.. but I digress .. on DVD from FreeMame Rom burning service .. I just never had the HD space to mess with them all until now..
User avatar
OX
Ice Cool Member
Ice Cool Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 9:05 pm

Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:06 pm

I'd like to see this gamebase with both Japanese and European/US games included.
hardmanm
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Lancashire, England
Posts: 455
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 8:03 am

Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:38 am

Hi .mad. can you give me a link to your Saturn gamebase, please.
Gamebase Developer
User avatar
.mad.
Honoured Member
Honoured Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2257
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:47 pm

no problem, will post a link very soon.

Just been finishing it off, adding more info and stuff.
it's 99% done.

This will come with Zer0 games linked to it.
so it's up to the user to find and download what version of the game they want.

Return to “Other GameBase Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 95 guests