Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Sharp X1 Gamebase

Discuss any other databases that use the GameBase Frontend, whether in pre development, development or publically released.

Moderator: Jimbo

repetto74
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Fri Oct 23, 2015 2:58 pm

Hi Mad,

I finally decided to choose X1 twin as the main Sharp X1 emulator as this is the best option I have for a good display. I am trying to set up joystick directions but no option from the emulator menu nor into the cfg file. :?
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1741
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Fri Oct 23, 2015 4:23 pm

The X1 emulator uses Direct Input.

only option is to use a digital joystick (USB).
There is no option to Map Keys.
repetto74
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Sat Oct 24, 2015 11:21 am

Hi Mad,

Ok thank you for the information. I may use a wireless USB joystick then which will be a good solution in a cab machine. :wink:
repetto74
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Mon Oct 26, 2015 5:12 pm

Hi Mad,

A little update on what I have done with the Sharp X1 gamebase. I am using X1 twin with a wireless gamepad and the result is pretty good. Only issue I have concerns games labelled as Tapes which will not load. I always get to the prompt screen of the X1 computer.

The script is basically very simple and all other games work. :?:
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1741
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:47 pm

Have you got the 7 X1Twin IPL ROM files in the X1Twin DIR.
games will not load without them.

ipl.rom [e70011d3]
kanji1.rom [5874f70b]
kanji2.rom [e710628a]
kanji3.rom [8cae13ae]
kanji4.rom [3e39de89]
ank8.rom [e3995a57]
ank16.rom [8f9fb213]

It will work with the default script
ADD_CLP(%gamepathfile%)
run_emulator()

when the emulator boots from gamebase, it will say...

IPL is under preparing
IPL is looking for a program from FD0 (disk)
IPL is looking for a program from CMT (tape)
IPL is loading "name of file"
wait a few mins for tape to load...
repetto74
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Tue Oct 27, 2015 4:21 pm

Hi Mad,

I have checked into the X1 Twin folder and I have :

IPL.rom
Ank8.rom
Ank16.rom
Kanji.rom

That's all I have.
*******************
EDIT
*******************

I have found the 7 required roms in the rom folder of Mess emulator. Have copied into X1 Twin folder but no luck, still tape game will not load.
For information when I start a tape game "IPL is looking for a program from FD0" which I assume it is looking for a media into the disk drive and not the cassette tape.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1741
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:37 pm

you need the correct IPL ROMs for X1Twin.
X1 or X1Turbo ROMs will not work.

X1 Twin with correct IPL.
http://www.datafilehost.com/d/74338a62
(untick the download manager to download file)

The IPL will always check Floppy drive first, if no disk is found it will then check for a Tape, if that fails it boots to OS menu.

Tested this with Xevious and 3-Biki no Buta-chan (3 little Pigs)
no problems.
repetto74
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Wed Oct 28, 2015 5:36 pm

Hi Mad,

Thanks again for your support :wink: I confirm all is working now and tapes can be loaded with no problem at all :D
manguan
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: Spain
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:26 pm

Re:

Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:38 am

.mad. wrote:
Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:37 pm
you need the correct IPL ROMs for X1Twin.
X1 or X1Turbo ROMs will not work.

X1 Twin with correct IPL.
http://www.datafilehost.com/d/74338a62
(untick the download manager to download file)

The IPL will always check Floppy drive first, if no disk is found it will then check for a Tape, if that fails it boots to OS menu.

Tested this with Xevious and 3-Biki no Buta-chan (3 little Pigs)
no problems.
Any working link for this roms pack?
Thanks .mad.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1741
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Re:

Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:24 am

manguan wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:38 am
Any working link for this roms pack?
Attachments
x1twin.zip
(65.39 KiB) Downloaded 135 times
manguan
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: Spain
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: Sharp X1 Gamebase

Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:13 pm

Thanks.

Return to “Other GameBase Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests